A Temporary Introduction To Cricket

A Temporary Introduction To Cricket

Cricket is a modern day sport played between teams. Every group has eleven players. The game is played on an oval or round formed ground which has an oblong 22 yard lengthy pitch at the center. One group bats to score as many runs as possible. The other group stops the run circulate by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite finish of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three formats of the game:

a) Test Cricket
b) One Day Cricket
c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest type of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket really developed with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was played between Australia and England in the 12 months 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since then. The rules have changed a lot. A test match is played over a interval of five days with each crew batting and bowling twice. Most over that may be bowled in a day is 90 while there isn't any restrict on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been performed until date.

There are 9 test enjoying nations which are full members of International Cricket Council - The International Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day Worldwide

Limited over cricket was introduced in England in the yr 1963. Internationally, the first limited over game was played in the 12 months 1971. One game is performed in a single day. A bowler can bowl a most of 10 over's in a game. In 1975, a new tournament often called World cup came into existence. All International Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a series of matches towards each other. The winners of tournament had been termed as World Champions.

World cup is performed after every 4 years. icc cricket world cup 2019 squads has carried out 10 world cups till date. Australia turned champions 4 occasions, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The last world cup was held within the 12 months 2011 and was won by India.


The latest evolution in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Right here, every team plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a most of four overs. First worldwide Twenty-twenty game was performed in the yr 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is played every two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international groups have played the game till date.

Even after a hundred years of its existence, the recognition of game is still increasing. More and more people are taking up this sport. It is only second to Football when it comes to followers across the globe and is about to submit a problem for the top slot very soon.